Skip to content Skip to footer

Calder Cup is the highest prize for the USA Sports Contest’s best club

In 1937 the Calder Prize was primarily introduced during the first sports season of the AHL. From then until 2022, the prize is the dream of every team that takes part in the AHL. As in any kind of competition, the trophy is the main goal for which all participants should compete. Let’s take a closer look at the main essence of the award.

Distinctive Prize features

The hockey award has been traditionally made of 925 precious metals since 1937. Foundation material – mahogany from Brazil. The prize is classically shaped like a square along with remembrance plates for 20 past AHL champions.

Moreover, the duration of the championship is shown on the tiers – 12 clubs on the lower layer, and 8 contemporary champs on the upper one.

Feature Peculiarity
Form Square
Material 925 sterling flatware
Basis Brazilian mahogany
Tiers 12/8 tiers
Ideological inspirer Frank Calder


When a new champion emerges, the oldest plaque is removed from the Cup and moved to the Hockey Fame Toronto Museum. The first president of the franchise was Frank Calder. Thanks to this man, the cup got its name.

Most Distinguished Clubs

Hershey Bears rightfully bears the title of the most frequent victor. The Hershey Bears have triumphed in the Calder Cup more often than anyone else.

11 wins in the genesis of the entire league. The Cleveland Barons are a little bit lower. They have picked 9 league winnings, and in 3rd place is the club – Springfield Indians.

Team Country Wins Finals
Hershey Bears USA 11 12
Cleveland Barons USA 9 5
Springfield Indians USA 7 8
Rochester Americans USA 6 10
Buffalo Bisons USA 5 4


Moreover, the Springfield Indians exist as the one crew to have triumphed and got the Prize three times in a row.

List of Calder Cup winners over the past years

It is important to note that the trophy was not drawn in the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 seasons. The reason for this was the sudden outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic.

Due to the pandemic, the organizers of the competition decided to temporarily suspend games and restore activities as the risks to the health of players and spectators decrease.

Season Triumphant Score in series
2018-2019 Charlotte Checkers 4-1
2017-2018 Toronto Marlies 4-3
2016-2017 Grand Rapids Griffins 4-2
2015-2016 Lake Erie Monsters 4-0
2014-2015 Manchester Monarchs 4-1
2013-2014 Texas Stars 4-1
2012-2013 Grand Rapids Griffins 4-2
2011-2012 Norfolk Admirals 4-0
2010-2011 Binghamton Senators  4-2


The 2022-2023 season has already been announced. Spectators and experts are already in anticipation of exciting and spectacular events.