Skip to content Skip to footer

Why did the AHL become the key license in the US?

The American Sports Event is license number two on the continent after the National Contest. The immense love for sports was reinforced in America for several decades in a row.

History of the Franchise

The story began way back in 1926. Then the American-Canadian League was formed. Back then, crews from Springfield, Boston, Quebec, Providence, and New Haven took part in the franchise.

After 10 years, the American-Canadian Franchise merged with the Intercontinental and shaped a single institution – IAHL. There was a time when all Canadian clubs left the squad, then the international name was removed. Upon the return of Canada to the franchise, the name was no longer renamed. In 2001, the name was also left the same.

Even the influence of the composition of the 6 teams of their International League could not affect it.

Relationship between the AHL and the NHL

All clubs from the AHL are called farm clubs, or in other words, the second teams for the NHL. Farm means grown for the NHL. In simple terms, you can say that clubs participating in the divisions are training to become members of the NHL later.

The fact of relationship between franchise teams can be different – the older franchise often directly owns the younger license, and sometimes you can talk about affiliation.

AHL roster as of 2022

In 2022, the AHL owns 31 crews – among them, only four teams are from Canada, and all the rest are from the USA.

Current teams
Western Conference Eastern Conference
Central Division Pacific Division Atlantic Division Northern Division
Iowa Wild Abbotsford Canucks Bridgeport Islanders Belville Senators
Grand Rapids Griffins Bakersfield Condors Lehigh Wally Phantoms Cleveland Monsters
Manitoba Mus Coachella Valley Firebirds Charlotte Checkers Laval Rocket
Milwaukee Admirals Colorado Eagles Springfield Thunderbirds Rochester Americans
Rockford Icehogs Ontario Rhine Providence Bruins Syracuse Crunch
Texas Stars San Diego Gulls Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Toronto Marlies
Chicago Wolves San Jose Barracuda Hartford Wolf Pack Utica Comets
Calgary Wranglers Hershey Bears
Tucson Roadrunners


Most of the roster is represented by teams from the USA. We have already mentioned that only seven clubs are from Canada – Manitoba Mus, Abbotsford Canucks, Calgary Wranglers, Belville Senators, Laval Rocket, and Toronto Marlies.

The brightest and most memorable AHL awards

In the long and interesting history of the formation of the modern franchise, the AHL boasts many ambitious and incredibly professional issues. The brightest of them:

Title Award Year
Most Valuable Player  Les Cunningham Award 1947-1948 
Western Conference Playoff Series Winner Robert W. Clarke Trophy 1989-1990
Atlantic Division Regular Season Winner Emile Francis Trophy 2001-2002
Winner of the regular season of the Pacific Division John D. Chick Trophy 1961-1962


The list of achievements did not end there and continues to be replenished with newcomers every year.